Chancellor’s Task Force

The Chancellor’s Task Force on Sexual and Relationship Violence was created in April 2015 to bolster the University’s efforts in sexual violence prevention, education and advocacy services.

The task force is made up of dedicated students, faculty, staff, alumni and the executive director of Vera House. Along with the task force members, many peer educators, student organizations, staff and faculty members, and individual students are dedicated to this cause. We must all join with them to end sexual and relationship violence. It is all of our responsibility to ensure a safe campus environment.

Task Force Charge

  • To review the University’s policies, practices, programs and procedures for preventing and effectively responding to sexual and relationship violence;
  • To keep apprised of federal and state mandates and initiatives;
  • To develop evidence-based recommendations to craft a comprehensive, cohesive and effective prevention and education program that will serve as a national model;
  • To examine and identify new and more effective ways of using technology, social media and other means to better educate the University community about existing services, programs, support systems, enforcement efforts and adjudication results; and
  • Any other matter deemed by the task force to be of our community’s well-being as it relates to the issue of sexual and relationship violence.


The Chancellor’s Task Force for Sexual and Relationship Violence Prevention began working with the Culture of Respect Campus Collective Project, a NASPA initiative in January 2020. After completing the CORE Evaluation Process the Chancellor Task Force divided into six working groups, following the Culture of Respect pillars:

  1. Survivor Support: Looking at medical and supportive services available to survivors or victims. What reporting policies are in place and how accessible resources are. 
  2. Clear Policies: Looking at policies, procedures and investigation protocols as well as what services are available for respondents.  
  3. Multitiered Education: Looking at trainings, prevention education and programming that is available on campus for students, staff and faculty. 
  4. Public Disclosure: Looking at communications to campus as well as data collection and what information is available. This pillar also looks into compliance with Clery, Title IX and other relevant legislature, such as Enough Is Enough. 
  5. Schoolwide Mobilization: Looking into support and collaboration from student organizations, peer education, the structure of the Chancellor’s Task Force and strategies to obtain student feedback. As well as looking into efforts to work with students’ parents and families, alumni and faculty and staff.
  6. Ongoing Assessment: Looking into evaluation or programs, policies and the sexual & relationship violence bi-annual campus survey. Reviewing the methodology being used and how data is utilized.

Task Force Members

The task force is composed of the following members for 2023-24:

  • Rob Hradsky, Vice President for the Student Experience, Co-Chair
  • Kelly Chandler-Olcott, Dean, School of Education, Co-Chair
  • Saud Alqabi, Student, College of Engineering & Computer Science
  • Tracy Balduzzi, Associate Director of Graduate Enrollment
  • Carrie Brown, Director, Barnes Center at the Arch, Counseling
  • Caitlyn Carroll, Associate Director, Community Standards
  • Jorge Castillo, Director, LGBTQ Resource Center
  • Nicole Cooter, Regulatory Compliance Manager, Risk Management
  • Shelley Crawford, Associate Director of Student Outreach, Student Outreach & Support
  • Anayeli Cruz-Sanchez, Student, Representative for the National Association of Latino Fraternal Organizations, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Tiffany Dennet, Director, Fraternity & Sorority Affairs
  • Sheriah Dixon, Dean of Students
  • DJ Dumervill, Student, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Kirsten Elleby, Deputy Director, Athletics
  • Virginia Evans, Staff Therapist II, Barnes Center at the Arch, Counseling
  • Isaiah Fernandez, Student, College of Engineering & Computer Sciences
  • Michelle Ferrara, Student, Whitman School of Management
  • Wei Gao, Associate Director of Operations & Outreach, Center for International Services
  • Christine Grabowski, Senior Writer & Content Specialist, Marketing & Communications
  • Brian Hamilton, Staff Therapist I, Barnes Center at the Arch, Counseling
  • Danielle Hardy, Student, School of Information Studies
  • Symphony Hylton, Student, School of Information Studies
  • Carrie Ingersoll-Wood, Director, Disability Cultural Center
  • Sheila Johnson-Willis, Chief Equal Opportunity & Title IX Officer for Faculty/Staff, Office of Equal Opportunity, Inclusion & Resolution Services
  • Missy Mathis-Hanlon, Director of Parents Office, Parent & Family Services
  • Suzette Melendez, Professor, Director of Parent & Family Law Clinic, College of Law
  • Mel Molsberry, Assistant Director of Residence Living, Student Living
  • Eric Nestor, Director of Apartment and Off-Campus Living, Student Living
  • Breana Nieves-Vergara, Assistant Director, Multicultural Affairs
  • Rebecca Ortiz, Associate Professor, Newhouse School of Public Communications
  • Tage Oster, Student, Whitman School of Management
  • Seth Ovadia, Associate Director, Institutional Research
  • Tulsi Patel, Student, Maxwell School of Citizenship & Public Affairs
  • Christina Percoski, Training Specialist & Facilitator, Office of Equal Opportunity, Inclusion & Resolution Services
  • Abby Perer, Associate General Counsel, Office of University Counsel
  • Pam Peter, Director & Title IX Coordinator, Student Title IX
  • Josh Rich, Director, Community Standards
  • Rebecca Rose, Academic Counselor, School of Education
  • Jessica Rosen, Student, School of Education
  • Sythong Run, Student, Peer Educator, Falk College of Sport & Human Dynamics
  • Jillian Scheer, Assistant Professor, Cobb-Jones Professor of Clinical Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Leslie Skeffington, Assistant Director for Sexual & Relationship Violence Prevention, Barnes Center at the Arch, Health Promotion
  • Sydney Smith, Student, Peer Educator, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Craig Stone, Associate Vice President & Chief of Campus Safety and Emergency Management, Department of Public Safety
  • Alyssa Sutherland, Student, Peer Educator, Falk College of Sport & Human Dynamics
  • Kourtney Toxey, Student, Representative for National Panhellenic Council, Whitman School of Management
  • Kayla Turner, Student, Peer Educator, Representative for Stand with Survivors Syracuse University, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Cory Wallack, Associate Vice President of Student Health and Wellness, Barnes Center at the Arch
  • Father Gerry Waterman, Sponsored Associate, Hendricks Chapel
  • Veronica Whalen-Jones, Director of Health Promotion, Barnes Center at the Arch, Health Promotion
  • Qingyi Yu, Assistant Director of Health Analytics, Barnes Center at the Arch, Health Services
  • Jessica Zaccari, Public Safety Officer III, Department of Public Safety

Along with the task force members, there are dozens of additional students, faculty and staff members, and representatives from Vera House who are members of task force work groups.